4. There is something to be said about Gentleness

September 12, 2010 at 11:28 pm (Uncategorized)

Since my last entry was so long, I am going to try to sum up an experience (that ultimately I cannot describe in words) with very few words.

Our second to last day, we visited a Haiti orphanage that was being supported by the local church we had been serving all week.

After a full day of coloring, new hair bows and hair clips, lifting up and lifting down, Legos, painting nails, soccer, bouncy balls, and Smarties, we began to fall in love with every child at the orphanage.

The one child that stuck out to me the most was Dalfin. Every move she made, every hug and kiss she gave me, every toy she shared, she did with the most grace, gentleness and kindness.

For someone who has nothing, this was inspiring.

I can’t quite describe much more about how impacting this little girl was, about how she touched my heart and inspired me to be like her. I will never forget that little girl, her attitude about life, and her gentle touch.

Leave a comment